History of Scouting

Summer 1907
Robert Baden Powell (B-P) organised a camp at Brownsea Island, in Poole Harbour, where 20 boys from different walks of life were divided into patrols with an older boy in charge of each patrol. It was based on his experiences of his time in the army and included nightly campfires listening to B-P telling stories of his adventures.

January 1908
The Boy Scout movement in England began in conjunction with the first instalment of Baden Powell’s ‘Scouting for Boys’, of which the last instalment was published in April 1908. It was based on a book Baden Powell had written while in the army, called “Aids to Scouting” which outlined his methods of Army Training. Girl Scouts also started up in 1908.

Cub Scouting began when “Junior Scouts” became “Wolf Cubs”.

Several major changes were introduced into the Scout Movement as a whole and “Wolf Cubs” became “Cub Scouts”. New Activity Badges were added to the Progressive Training Scheme with the emphasis now on the individual to reach their own level dependant on their individual talents and abilities.

Venture Scouting was formed from the existing Senior Scout and Rover Scout sections.

Older girls were first allowed in the Boy Scout movement.

October 1982
The Scout Association introduced ‘Beavers’ for 6 and 7 year old boys in response to a growing demand within the Movement for such an optional activity to be available at the discretion of Scout Groups.

April 1986
Beavers became a recognised training Section and took the title of Beaver Scouts.

To meet the changing needs of new generations, two new sections were created for young people over the age of 14 – Explorer Scouts for 14-18-year-olds and the Scout Network for 18-25 year olds were created.

Girls have been allowed in all age groups.

The current UK Chief Scout is Bear Grylls and is the youngest to be appointed at 34 years old.

© Copyright 2024, 11th Gloucester (Hucclecote) Scout Group, All Rights Reserved.